When you get hit by a reckless motorist while taking a trip through Miami, you expect their insurance to cover your vehicle repair bills and healthcare expenses.
But what if the other driver doesn’t have insurance? Well, if you reach out to an experienced car accident lawyer from Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer you may still be able to recover some much-needed compensation.
- 1 How Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer, Can Help You Fight for Compensation After a Car Crash in Miami
- 2 Understanding Florida’s Auto Insurance Laws
- 3 Understanding the Process of Recovering Compensation After a Crash with an Uninsured Driver in the State of Florida
- 4 Compensation Available in Uninsured Motorist Cases in Florida
- 5 Deadline for Filing Uninsured Motorist Claims in Florida
- 6 How Should Florida Motorists React If They Get Hit By an Uninsured Driver?
- 7 What If the Other Driver Doesn’t Have Insurance? Contact a Car Accident Law Firm in Miami, FL Today
- 8 Other Car Accident Cases We Cover
How Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer, Can Help You Fight for Compensation After a Car Crash in Miami
Over the years, Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer has helped scores of Miamians fight for compensation after collisions with uninsured drivers – recovering untold sums of money on behalf of our clients in the process.
If you hire us to assist you with your case, we will:
- Thoroughly investigate the facts of your car accident
- Help you understand your legal options
- Review your case and assess your damages
- Discuss your injuries with skilled medical professionals
- Provide you with reasoned legal advice and guidance
- Search for evidence that may help your compensation claim
- Handle your case’s administrative workload
- Represent you in civil court, if necessary
Would you like to have a knowledgeable Miami personal injury lawyer from Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer help you fight for compensation after your accident with an uninsured driver? If so, please pick up the phone and set up a free consultation with a member of our team at our office in Miami. We have been working in the industry for years and know how to win cases like yours.
Understanding Florida’s Auto Insurance Laws
In Florida, all motorists must carry an auto insurance policy with the following minimum limits:
- $10,000 of coverage for bodily injuries – per person
- $20,000 of coverage for bodily injuries – per accident
- $10,000 of coverage for property damage
Those who fail to carry adequate in the Sunshine State can face the following penalties:
- 1st Offense: Driver’s license suspension of up to three years, with a reinstatement fee of $150
- 2nd Offense: Driver’s license suspension of up to three years, with a reinstatement fee of $250
- 3rd Offense: Driver’s license suspension of up to three years, with a reinstatement fee of $500
Despite these hefty punishments, data from the Insurance Research Council and the Insurance Information Institute shows that as many as 26.7 percent of motorists in Florida are uninsured. That is a higher percentage than every other state in the nation.
Did you get hit by an uninsured driver while traveling through Miami or Fort Lauderdale? If so, an experienced litigator from Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer might be able to help you recover some compensation. Contact us today to schedule a free initial consultation with one of our team members and learn more about our legal services.
Understanding the Process of Recovering Compensation After a Crash with an Uninsured Driver in the State of Florida
Accidents involving roughly one-quarter of all Florida drivers that don’t have insurance happen almost every day. The victims of these crashes have two main options when it comes to pursuing damages. They are:
Filing a Lawsuit Against the At-Fault Driver
Florida, like many other jurisdictions in the US, is an at-fault state. In short, this designation means that drivers who cause accidents must take financial responsibility for the damages incurred by any victims.
The simplest way for Miami motorists to fulfill their obligations under this law is to purchase and maintain valid insurance coverage. When they get into an accident, their insurer will then pay for the damages of their victims.
Of course, the fact that a driver is uninsured does not allow them to walk away from an auto accident in Miami without compensating the injured persons. Under Florida law, they must cover the damages out of their own pocket.
Should they fail to remit payment in a timely manner, the victim may elect to file a personal injury lawsuit against them. In doing so, they must typically prove that:
- The uninsured driver owed them a duty of care
- The uninsured driver’s negligent actions breached that duty
- The uninsured driver’s breach of duty caused their injury, and
- Their injury is as life-altering as they claim
If they win their case, the judge and jury will decide how substantial their compensatory award ought to be.
This process can be lengthy and complex, so injured parties should have an experienced lawyer by their side at all times if they want to ensure everything runs smoothly.
Filing an Uninsured Motorist Insurance Claim
Accident victims who do not wish to file a lawsuit can instead opt to pursue compensation by filing a claim under the uninsured motorist coverage in their auto insurance policy. Florida law states that every insurer in the region must offer this coverage to its policyholders as an optional extra.
Obtaining the funds needed to pay for medical expenses and vehicle repair bills through an uninsured motorist claim should work as such:
- Filing a claim with the insurance company
- Providing the insurer with evidence to support the claim
- Waiting for the insurance company to review the claim
- Receiving the compensatory payout
Unfortunately, insurance companies tend to make the process quite a lot more difficult than it needs to be. In an effort to increase their profits, they often deny and delay legitimate claims.
Because of the unscrupulous actions of Florida insurers, anyone who intends to file an uninsured or underinsured motorist claim would be well advised to retain the services of a skilled lawyer before getting started.
Do you want a skilled car accident attorney from Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer, to help you file a personal injury lawsuit or uninsured motorist claim? If so, please give us a call or contact us online as soon as we can. Our team has been assisting Miami residents with these types of cases for years and is ready to stand up for you.
Compensation Available in Uninsured Motorist Cases in Florida
The amount of compensation available to Florida drivers who sustain injuries at the hands of an uninsured motorist depends on a range of factors, including:
- The cost of their past and future medical care
- The amount of time their injury forced them to miss from work
- The impact their injury will have on their career
- The extent of their property damage
- The mental anguish they endured because of their injury
- The effect their injury will have on their quality of life
When the lawyers at Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer file personal injury lawsuits on behalf of Miami accident victims, we pursue damages for their:
- Initial medical bills
- Rehabilitative care costs
- Lost wages
- Loss of future earnings
- Property damage
- Mental anguish
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
If the responsible person acted with gross negligence or intentional misconduct, our legal team also demands punitive damages. Florida caps damages of this nature at $500,000.
Are you ready to fight for the compensation you deserve with the aid of a skilled personal injury lawyer from Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer? If so, all you need to do is give us a call and arrange a free case evaluation at our law offices in Miami, FL. Our team knows how to win cases like yours and is more than ready to go to bat on your behalf.
Deadline for Filing Uninsured Motorist Claims in Florida
The length of time that a person has to pursue compensation after a collision with an uninsured driver in Miami depends on the route they intend to take to accomplish their goal.
People who wish to take action against their insurance company for denying or delaying their uninsured motorist claim must typically do so within five years.
Would you like to have a skilled attorney from Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer help you file a personal injury lawsuit or take action against your insurer before your statute of limitations expires? Then please get in touch with us at your earliest convenience. Our team has several years of experience in the industry and might be able to expedite your filing.
How Should Florida Motorists React If They Get Hit By an Uninsured Driver?
When Florida motorists get into accidents with uninsured motorists, it is essential that they take immediate steps to protect their health and their financial future. Though every case is unique, most wreck victims should:
- Call an ambulance, if necessary
- Report the accident to their insurer
- Call the police and make a statement
- Take plenty of pictures of the scene
- Refrain from taking any cash payments
- Hire a knowledgeable personal injury lawyer
Do you need an attorney to assist you in the aftermath of a collision with an uninsured driver? Then please get in touch with Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer. We are always available to help our friends and neighbors in the City of Miami.
What If the Other Driver Doesn’t Have Insurance? Contact a Car Accident Law Firm in Miami, FL Today
When you need a lawyer to help you fight for compensation after an accident involving an uninsured motorist, there is only one place you need to turn – Lavent Law Personal Injury Lawyer. We have been working on these types of cases for years and would love to stand up for you. To get started with your legal battle, all you need to do is give us a call.
Other Car Accident Cases We Cover
- Can I Be Compensated for Pre-Existing Conditions After a Miami Car Accident?
- Most Dangerous Intersections in Miami
- How Long Will My Car Accident Case Take to Settle in Florida?
- Who Is at Fault for My Florida Car Accident?
- Car Accident FAQs